Forum rules - please read before posting.

How to Set Active Scene via Action List When 2 Scenes Loaded

So I am still learning, so I may not be doing this the optimal way, so please let me know if there is another method that would solve this problem.

I have a journal that can be brought up in any scene, where notes are stored, and it's how you can fast travel between scenes. I don't want to recreate everything for that journal in each scene, especially as we continue to make tweaks to it. So, it seemed like the best option is to have it in it's own scene, and then add it to each main scene (via Scene > Add). This is successful, but objects in the scene cannot be Used in an Action List because it's not the active scene. It's ignoring any commands to do things with objects in the Journal scene. From the scene heirarchy, while playing the game, I can set the Journal scene to the active scene, and then those objects can be used. However, I need a way to do this from the action list, where after the journal is selected from the inventory, I set the Journal scene to be the active scene. I'm not seeing any options from the Adventure Creator tools to do this, though.

Am I missing something, or am I just doing this all wrong? Help is appreciated!

Comments

• edited May 2019

It sounds like you should be attempting this by using the AC Menu system (Which has a Journal template/functionality built in I believe). I don't have a ton of experience with this. but that's where I would start looking first.

Maybe this will help?
    https://adventurecreator.org/tutorials/creating-diary-system

• Thanks for the link! I had thought about a menu, but there will be a ton of functionality built into this, and I wasn't sure how multifacted I could make a menu. But if I can do hotspots and transformations imbeeded in the canvas? Perhaps I could make that work.

• Welcome to the communuty, @dojogrant.