Forum rules - please read before posting.

First Person - Camera Follow Character Moves

Hi guys, 

I am new to Adventure Creator and I am going to use it to build an adventure game.
One quick question.

For example, if I use the First Person view, if my character does a backflip for example, will the camera follow the movement of the character's head?

I need it to look as if the player is actually doing the roll, to give the player the experience of doing a backflip.

If it doesn't, is there a way to do this?

Comments

• If the character will have a body and you parent the camera to the character's head, then yes, it will most probably rotate with the character (if it's not constrained). Also, if you use an empty object then parent the camera to it and then animate the empty object to rotate, then yes it should follow it too, as far as I know. At least by regular Unity first person standards. But, I got to admit I've never used fist person with AC before so I'm not entirely sure how that will work. It depends on if the the camera is used differently, but I've never followed that tutorial. As an alternative you could also animate the camera instead, that way you wouldn't have the need for a player "body". you would probably need to disable player controls during the back flip though, or the controls would fight with the animation.
  • OK, thanks. I appreciate it. I guess i will try it soon :)
    But i wanted to be sure. 
  • Presumably you're looking for more than just a camera effect - you also want the player to move back (and perhaps jump during it as well), which means physically moving the root player gameobject.