Forum rules - please read before posting.

Referencing inventory items / creating inventory items programmatically

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Unity and new to Adventure Creator, though I am a programmer full-time so I'm comfortable with scripting if necessary. My main problem right now is not knowing the limits of Adventure Creator when it comes to a game like this, since it's not a traditional adventure game - I'm unsure whether I can implement the game mechanics I want in Adventure Creator already, or whether I should look to custom scripting.

The overall idea is that a player examine objects in a room and add them as evidence (inventory). The player can talk to NPCs visual novel style and present the evidence to contradict the NPCs current statement. Similar to Phoenix Wright and Paradise Killer.

I have a few things I'm unsure of how to handle with regards to the inventory.

First, my idea is that the player would be able to examine almost anything that exists in-game and add it as evidence in their inventory. However, adding maybe over a hundred inventory items to the Inventory Manager seems unproductive. I'm thinking a better way would be for every object with a hotspot to also have some script/component that has the details (just name, image, and description is all I need I think) for an inventory item, which is created when that object is interacted with. However, the manual only describes scripting new instances of an inventory item, not creating a new inventory item entirely, so I'm not sure if this is possible.

Second, I don't want inventory items to have interactions, I just want the user to open up the inventory menu and hover over the items to display a description of the item. I think this forum post describes what I want, however, so I can try it out first. Though I'm not familiar with Unity UI, and I didn't find any straightforward tutorials from a quick search, so if anyone has helpful guides there please let me know.