Forum rules - please read before posting.

Controlling UFPS (equip/unequip/next item) through Action Lists

I got started with integrating AC and UFPS yesterday, and it SEEMS to be working okay so far.

One of the things I'd need in order to make this setup viable would be the ability to control some UFPS actions through AC action lists (as I'm not a coder and really only use AC for everything)

For instance, I want the player to unequip the currently held weapon (as otherwise, the arms continue to display over different cameras and cutscenes from the UFPS overlay camera) I figured the best way to do this would be to force unequip the gun so the player puts their arms down (and therefore have them not be visible over the cutscene)

Since I don't know how to control UFPS through scripts and code, the best way would be to forcibly simulate the 'T' key (equip/unequip) being pressed. Is there a way to do this in AC? Afaik, Active Inputs do the reverse, correct? (You press a key and they run an assigned Action List) Any action that tells Unity that 'T' is being pressed?

Is this the right way to go about this or is there another better approach?

Thanks

Comments

• The integration provides a bridge between AC and UCC items in the form of the AC_UCC_Item script, but this works by having UCC be the effector and AC the reactor. That is, equipping an item in UCC will update AC, but not the other way around.

To unequip an item in UCC, you will need to rely on custom code. Custom code can be triggered by AC either with a custom Action, or by invoking a script function directly with the Object: Call event or Object: Send message Actions.

You should consult UCC's documentation / developer for details on how to manually update the UCC selected item. With the code, I can advise on how to call it from within AC using the above.

See also this thread on the UCC forums related to unequipping items via AC.

• edited October 2021