Forum rules - please read before posting.

Quick question about NIntendo Switch controls port

SFGSFG
edited June 2020 in Extending the editor

I have a switch dev kit and license, just curious how are people getting their controls to work?

Are people using the Unity plugin Rewired to get the controls working with AC and the switch?

With the 3DS the controls just worked when it compiled. With the Switch, it seems to ignore the controls and touchscreen (the game is builtin AC and is a MacVenture so it is a 2d first-person point and click). Before the dev kit arrived had the game compiling and running fine on the emulated environment, but soon as I put it on the switch none of the controls worked.

Just wondering if people had any idea for a solution for this. Basically, I want to use the touch screen and also control the cursor with joystick and Y and B buttons.

To be clear I've never used Rewired before, but I saw someone suggest it elsewhere.

Any advice would be appreciated,
William

Comments

• edited June 2020

(Moved to "Extending the editor")

AC has a Rewired integration script here, but I'm not aware of a specific need to rely on Rewired to get basic input going. If the "Input method" is set to "Keyboard Or Controller", it'll rely on inputs defined in Unity's Input Manager, which themselves can be mapped to a Switch controller.

See the Manual's "Keyboard or controller input" chapter for details on what those inputs are named.

• Thanks I"ll be trying this tomorrow evening after work :D

• SFGSFG
    edited February 2021

Jeeze it's been a while.

Ok, so I'm still pretty stuck here, though I've been reading and experimenting a bit with rewired when I haven't been working... Still no dice though.