Forum rules - please read before posting.

Project Autumn - Action RPG using AC as a base

The more I muck about with AC the more amazed I am at how flexible it is. I'm a seriously basic coder and the base Chris has set up has allowed me to utilise that basic coding to create a full fledged Action RPG with enemy AI, ATB, status, relationship and combo systems integrated.

You can check out my Twitter to keep up with how it's going. Here's the latest with a gif of the combo system up and running.

Comments

• Yeah I know what you mean, I'm in the same boat with regards to programming/coding knowledge. The things that AC allows you to do seem only limited by what you can dream up.

This looks great though, I'll definitely be following your progress with this!

• cool. looking good

one of my own aims (when i've finished my current ongoing projects) is to eventually create an action RPG using AC as a base, so i'd be interested to know how you tackled things like tracking actor stats and relationships and all the other stuff that AC doesn't really do out of the box

• Very cool! Agreed, I'm sure many would be interested in an overview on how you merged such mechanics into AC.

• Hey thanks for the kind words and sorry for not responding. I'll try to write something up tomorrow :smile:

• edited January 2019

I had big hoop dreams to write up something in December, but such is life! I've got a spare ten minutes and remembered this forum post. So, here's the short version of how I did it:

• Write a script full of beautiful variables like damage, fire protection etc with some functions that calculate stuff like damage - fire protection.
    • Write an AI Script that has a basic state machine (i.e. "I want to attack", "I am poisoned", "I have been hit"). Have that state machine call a certain action list asset when that characters turn is up in combat.