Forum rules - please read before posting.

Draggable Dialogue

edited September 2014 in Technical Q&A
Hi!

I'm just getting started with AC and loving it so far, but I need help creating a new mechanic. I'm working in a 3D environment, but using 2D sprites for characters, including the player.

I'm trying to setup a system where the player can see an NPC's emotions or inner-thoughts (floating next to them) when you click on them. Think of these emotions or inner-thoughts (single words for now) like stats hovering above or around an NPCs head. Not only does clicking the NPC generate these floating thoughts, but it also initiates a conversation at the same time. Once the conversation is initialised the player is presented with a few standard dialogue options, and I'd like to be able to drag these floating "emotion words" onto the dialogue options that in turn generates a unique response.

For example, the player is in a prison cell and an NPC guard is outside the door. The player wants to escape the prison cell. When you click on the NPC guard two words float next to him, "Daughter" and  "Money". At the same time a conversation is started, the player is now presented with one dialogue option "Tell me the keycode for the prison door". If the player clicks on the dialogue option, as you would in an adventure game, you don't get the required information. The guard says something like "I'm not telling you!". Or something.

To make things interesting I'd like the player to be able to drag the words, in this case "Daughter" and/or "Money" onto the dialogue option. Doing so starts results in a conversation about how his daughter would be disappointed if he didn't help the player, and he gives up the code. Essentially getting the information the player needs.