Forum rules - please read before posting.

Tip: Assign variable presets at runtime

This might be old news to some, but I just discovered that it's possible to create an actionlist that assigns variables and that this can be run at runtime. This is SO helpful when playtesting different states of your game. Just make your presets, make actionlists that assigns them and while the game is running you can hit the RUN button in the top corner in the actionlist editor. Can't believe I've been using AC for at least 4 years without knowing this :sweat_smile:

Comments

• You can also click the Bulk assign button in the Variables to assign them at runtime as well!

• Ah! Even better! Seriously, I can't believe how much great functionality you've put into this asset.

• More's a-comin'! :)

• This is indeed hugely helpful and powerful.

Whilst playtesting the starts and on scene enter states of different parts of the game I think It would also be really helpful if that "bulk assign" button worked in the editor too.

That would allow me to quickly set all the variables to a particular setting BEFORE I pressed the play button, and before the current start scene action runs.

Any chance of this as a feature update? Or is there a global "on editor play action" that runs before any other action that i could trigger the preset?

Cheers
    Andi

• Updating values via preset in the Editor would cause their default values to be overwritten. It could be done via a custom Editor script, but for safety I feel this is probably avoided officially.

What you can do, however, is assign your preset in your "ActionList on start game" asset file, which can be assigned at the top of the Settings Manager. This will be run before the OnStart cutscene in your game's opening scene.

• edited October 2020

Thanks @ChrisIceBox , as always a great explanation and a perfect alternative solution.

Thanks!