Forum rules - please read before posting.

Using animating 2D character function in Unity

Hi

I'm a beginner and was told that skeletal animation is more efficient to make than sprite animation.
So I wonder How can I use this tutorial() with AC.

Comments

• edited April 2019

Welcome to the community, @dadadodo.

Skeletal animation is certainly possible with AC - so long as you can play an animation in a standard Animator component, then AC can play that animation back at runtime.

It is, however, more complicated to set up - particularly if you're a beginner to AC and/or Unity. If you're following the 2D tutorial, I would recommend sticking to regular sprite-swapping at least for the moment - until you're comfortable with using AC.

Past discussion of using Unity's skeletal animation tools can be found here:
    https://adventurecreator.org/forum/discussion/8382/cannot-play-animations

Discussion on an integration script between AC and Spine can also be found here:
    https://adventurecreator.org/forum/discussion/4332/spine-integration#latest

AC's 2D characters work by having their animations/sprites on a "sprite child", which is a child object of the root, and assigned in the character's Inspector's "Sprite child" field.

For normal sprite-swapping animations, a single Sprite Renderer and Animator component on the sprite child is generally enough. With skeletal animation, however, things get more tricky - since it involves many different GameObjects and a larger hierarchy.

You first want to make sure that the skeleton/sprite objects all have a shared parent - which itself is a child (the "sprite child") of the character's root, i.e.:

Root object (Player / NPC component)
    -Sprite child (with Animator)
    --Bone objects
    --IK objects
    --Sprite objects

Animation should then play correctly.