Forum rules - please read before posting.

Arrange Interaction Icons based on their amount

I've one question... how can I set an Interaction Menu to arrange the icons based on the number of interactions?
I'll have a minimum of 1 and a max of 4 interactions and I'd like the icons to be arranged differently each time.
For example a hotspot can have 2 interactions (look and use), some other can have 4 (look, use, pull, pick), etc...
And I'd like my interaction icons to appear differently based on how many I have (now if I've 4 they all appear under the cursor). For instance: if there's one I want it under my cursor, if there are two I'd like them one on each side, etc.

Basically I'd like an arrangement like this:
https://ibb.co/XCgLY6v

I guess I've to write a custom script for the Interaction Menu?
But where? How?
(consider I'm a total noob with AC and Unity3D, but I've some basic experience with coding, especially for web design)

Thanks a lot!!

Comments

• Yes, you'd need to rely on some scripting - but likely not much.

First of all, you'll want to render your Menu with Unity UI if you aren't already. The "Adventure Creator" source option is better used for prototyping, with Unity UI the best option for fine tuning your Menu's appearance.

See the Manual's "Unity UI menus" chapter, as well as this tutorial, for more on Unity UI menus. The default Interaction menu, however, comes with a Unity UI variant that you can access by changing the Source option to Unity Ui Prefab.

You can then attach a script to your Canvas that re-arranges your UI Buttons according to how many are enabled - when AC turns your Interaction menu on, the Buttons will already be enabled/disabled accordingly.

Something like this:
    http://pasteall.org/1488691/csharp

Attach the component to the prefab, assign the Button/Vector fields, and they should update as they do in your image.

• Dear Chris, thanks a lot for your reply.