Forum rules - please read before posting.

Is Adventure Creator the right choice for what I'm looking for?

Hello guys,
I'm mainly a film director/producer and I want to develop a 2D game out of my brand new short film.
Here some pictures taken from it:

And here the trailer: https://youtu.be/AHTn-LBlOjY
I'm mainly a graphic designer/filmmaker, but I've some experience with website coding (html5, flash, etc) and I designed long time ago some simple games.

At the moment I'm mainly looking to understand what's the right engine to develop my game.
Initially I thought to do it in UE4 (I've already a couple of coders for that), but I'm not happy with the final look and I'd like to keep the aesthetic of my short film (that was made in 3D but with cel shading and "flat" rendering), therefore maybe a solution is having an entirely 2D approach.
I love the games developed with Visionaire (like "Deponia", "The whispered World", "The pillars of Earth", "Paradigm", etc.) and I'm aiming for a pretty classic game mechanic. So "Visionaire Studio" was my second choice.

Now I discovered "Adventure Creator" for Unity and, considering it has a larger community than "Visionaire", maybe it could be the right and final choice?

But, just to be sure, I've some questions for you all:

• I want to have two swappable main characters to use, with different inventory and cursors/icons set. Is that doable on Adventure Creator? Is there a way that the 2nd character will follow the 1st without overlapping or messing around? (In most of the game they are together on the same location, but each of them has different "abilities" to solve the puzzles... in some cases they'll be in different scenes)

• How Adventure Creator handle particles, such as rain, dust, etc on a 2D game? Should I use simply PNG sequences (or video) overlying/blending the scene, or can I have a more "3D feeling" blended with 2D flat graphic?