Forum rules - please read before posting.

Array in an Action

edited December 2018 in Technical Q&A

Hi!

I'm new to AC, but I can already see how fantastic this tool is!

I've been playing around with everything for a while now and I'm still getting used to everything. I'm currently trying to get arrays to work in an Action. I have a lot of data, and I would really rather not create 50+ variables in the menu. I was planning on creating an Action that I can run at the start of the game to set up a bunch of arrays. Later, other Actions would access and change them dynamically in the game - is that possible at all?

The part I'm struggling with at the moment, is setting up the GUI for the Action in ShowGUI() method - I can't seem to find the best way to show array in the GUI. I tried using EditorGUILayout.IntPopup() but as far I understand it takes in strings, which later need to be converted? Is there a better method?

Any guidance in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Unity Version: 2018.2.18f1
AC Version: 1.65.2

Comments

• i'm sure chris will give you more (and better) info, but i can confirm that it is possible to use arrays in AC, because i do it myself

that's the good news. the bad news is that it's by no means straightforward. the way i do it is by encoding each array as a string variable, which has the advantage that the data is automatically included in AC's save/load system. the array then obviously needs to be decoded whenever you want to use it

i've set up a couple of new ActionLists: ActionArrayElementCheck (to check the value of an array element) and ActionArrayElementSet (to set a value), plus one script to set the whole system up. my ShowGui method converts the string into the appropriate variable type in order to properly display it in the relevant ActionList

unfortunately it's not a very friendly or flexible system (and i'm sure there will be better ways to approach the problem), so probably not worth sharing