Forum rules - please read before posting.

Custom speech token for amount of an inventory item?

I'm new to custom tokens, but I've been looking through the tutorial: https://adventurecreator.org/tutorials/creating-custom-tokens and I'm having a little trouble figuring this out. I assume the custom token script needs to be on a gameobject in scene, but I'm not sure how to reference the inventory item I'm looking at, or if I should just hard code it for a specific item ID (in this case, money).

So, if looking at the money inventory item, I want to write something like "I have [count] coins" for greater than 0, and "I have no coins" for 0; should the grammar )coin/coins) be a branch in the action list that counts the item amount and displays the grammatically correct line? I'm really looking forward to learning about writing custom tokens as I love dynamic dialogue possibilities, but I just need to make sure I'm on the right track with this!

Comments

• It seems to me that the grammar would only be different if you have 1 coin, since then you'd have no pluraly.  For 0 or >1 coins, you're still going to say "I have X coins", even if X="no".

You can use the Inventory: Check Action to determine how many coins you're carrying, and play one of two Actions accordingly.

To get the amount carried of a particular item, right click on the Quantity on start? field in the Inventory's properties.  You can temporarily check Carry on start? to show it if it's not visible.  After right-clicking, you'll be able to get a script reference to modify it through script, e.g.:

AC.KickStarter.runtimeInventory.GetItem (0).count

• Yeah, that was the method I was going to use, I just wasn't certain about how to put the amount number in the dialogue itself as a token ( "I have [count] coins" - I'm not sure how to get [count] to populate the amount)

As for speech, I'm not sure if its possible to dynamically retrieve sounds; if I had an actionlist: