Forum rules - please read before posting.

3D player model facing down on runtime

I'm just learning how to work with 3D models in Unity and AC.

I have dragged my 3D player model onto the scene, made it the player with the Create Character wizard, and I have created a Navmesh for him to walk on. In scene view and game view the model is rotated correctly, however when I actually run the game the player starts facing down. This only happens when my model is assigned as the player. I tried rotating Player Start to -90 degrees on the x axis, and that actually made it start with the correct rotation, however as soon as I make him walk, he faces down.

I make my models in Blender, and as many of you probably know, there is a slight rotation problem when you import Blender models to Unity because of their different coordinate systems. However, Unity automatically compensates for this by rotating imported Blender models to -90 degrees on the x axis, effectively showing the models correctly rotated in the scene.

Is there something like a pivot point that I need to set for my model, for AC to know which direction it should face, or what could be the problem?

Comments

• First of all, don't modify your PlayerStart to compensate - as you've found, whatever issue is there will kick in again once they start to move.  The Player must have a local euler rotation of 0 in the X and Z axes.

Are you exporting to FBX?  In my experience, results are much better when checking "!EXPERIMENTAL! Apply Transform" in the Export FBX options panel.

As a last resort, you could also try moving your model to a child object of the root Player GameObject so that you can rotate it independently of the root.
  • edited September 2018
    Thank you for the reply, @ChrisIceBox!
    I tried exporting as FBX now with Apply Transform checked, and now the rotation is correct.

The 'local euler rotation' - is that simply the player transform rotation, or is it something else (and where can it be found)?