Forum rules - please read before posting.

Dynamic menu for questions

I am new to AC and really find it a great plugin.

As part of a new serious game, I needed to use the menu system to allow the game to ask the player to choose between various options after interacting with objects. Also wanted this to be dynamic. Here's my approach, question and some suggestions for AC:

- Have all the questions stored in a popUp variable (as an array and easier for translation)
- Have hotspots on game objects which call an ActionList which just specifies the ID within
the questions popup of the first question and calls a Setupmenu ActionList
- This ActionList transfers the 4 questions following the given ID into 4 variables which are used with tokens to set the menu texts (also transfer into 4 other variables the next action to execute after the user selects one of the menu entries, also stored in a global popup)
- If one of the text variables is empty (empty slot in the popup), disable the corresponding menu element
- According to player's choice, branch onto the corresponding Action List in the other variable

My question is the following:

I'm having trouble disabling the menu elements using Menu-Change state-Hide Menu Element, as I can't find the correct value to specify under "Element to hide". I can hide the entire menu by specifying Menu as "Conversation" and Element to hide as the name I gave to the DialogList below this menu (called it "QuestDialog"). So, how do I specify say the third element in this dialog list? Tried QuestDialog:3 or QuestDialog(3), but that doesn't work.

Having worked on this, I also have a few suggestions to improve AC (perhaps these have already been stated, not sure):

- Allow to specify any parameters of an Interaction called from a hotspot within the hotspot's "Use/Examine/Inventory" dialogue boxes (avoids have to call an interaction to just then use the ActionList:Run feature with the parameters)