Forum rules - please read before posting.

Beginner question: How to modify the mouse controls

Thank you for an amazing tool! I'm a beginner Unity user working on a 2D adventure game, practically no experience in programming and I'm not entirely sure if the things I want require some programming. Been messing around with AC for tens of hours and slowly getting the hang of it. Right now I've been a bit stuck on mapping the controls to my liking. The question:

How can I change the interactions that happen from left and right mouse clicks? I'm planning to do something like this:

Left mouse click: controls the player around, goes towards hotspots.
Left mouse hold for 0.5 seconds: opens up the interaction menu/buttons on the pressed hotspot; if not pressed on a hotspot then the holded mouse button does nothing other than follow the path towards the clicked point. The game should wait for the correct action before either moving character or opening the interaction menu, so the movement should trigger only when the mouse is pressed anything between 0 and 0.49999 seconds.
Right mouse click: opens up the interaction menu/buttons on the pressed hotspot but nothing else, so clicking with right button is merely an alternative to the 0.5 mouse click hold.

If these actions are something that require programming, then I'll have to ask for additional guidance. Hoping for there to be options for very creative button mapping within AC. What I'm working on now is merely a beginning, because I have a lot things I'd like to do with the controls. Right now the things above are my top priority.

I'm initially making the game for PC and Mac. All help appreciated! Hope my problem description makes sense. Thank you again.

Comments

• edited June 2017
    I believe you would have to use a custom interaction script to do what you want to do. section 12.12 of the manual explains more on that.