Forum rules - please read before posting.

Playing videos in the ActionList Editor using Unity's new VideoPlayer component?

Hi all
I'm new to AC, working on a 3D game that uses FMV style video assets for conversations. In Engine: Play Movie Clip it only gives the option to use a movie texture, but I'd like to use Unity's new VideoPlayer component instead because it allows for processing video clips a different way that maintains their transparency. Any advice on how to best do this?
Thanks!

Comments

• edited April 2017
    Hi, and welcome to the Adventure Creator forums @clairesquare

Well, I must say you got me a bit with this one, because I have never used the new VideoPlayer Component yet. I'm not aware of AC using this component in any actions yet. As this is a new component, chances are we'll be getting an updated action to use it later on. For now, I'll try to do a bit of research and see what can be done, though at this point a custom action might be needed to control the component. I'm going to take a look at Unity's API regarding the VideoPlayer component to try to get an idea how hard or easy it'll be to make such custom action.
  • Alright, here's a quick wip custom action to control your video players. Give it a try and tell me how it goes. 
  • Wow @Alverik thank you! A big part of the reason I'm using AC is because I'm terrible at programming. Thank you for writing a custom script for me!

I took all the code you wrote and put it in "ActionManageVideoPlayer.cs" script file inside AdventureCreator/Scripts/Actions folder. But how do I access that action from the Action List Editor? I couldn't find it added to any of the dropdown menus including "Custom"

Thank you!
  • In case its helpful to figuring it out - these are the error messages I'm getting when I go the Actions Manager in the AC Game Editor and click on "Custom." I'm only using the VideoPlayer with Render Textures so maybe I could comment out the CameraBackPlane and FrontPlane parts?