Forum rules - please read before posting.

Multiple characters and FollowSortingMap

The SortingMap system is quite nice, and I really like how easy it is to tweak order and fake perspective with it in a 2D scene.

However, when multiple NPC's are walking around they don't order properly when overlapping each other.

Is there a way to use SortingMaps and if 2 characters are in the same area, the top one on the Y-axis will always be sorted behind the lower one?

Both characters are 2D and have sprites with child sprites that are offsetted a little bit.

Before I was using AC, I did it something like this:
order = (int)-(Mathf.Round (transform.position.y * 100));
sprite.sortingOrder = order + offset;

My guess is the easiest way is to create a custom version of FollowSortingMap?
I am a lousy coder, so any advice or help would be appreciated! :)

Comments

• There is already a system in place to account for two characters in the same region - and your own trick is very similar to the way it actually works, i.e. moving the sprites ever so slightly towards the camera.

However, testing this just now suggests there's a problem with it.  Though the position is changing correctly, it's not affecting the rendering order as it should - it could be that this is due to a change in Unity.  What version are you using?
  • The latest: 5.4.1f1

I implemented my own code and it seems to work without braking the scale from AC's sortingmap. But the code is a bit messy and it involves adding components to every single sprite in the game. So I'd rather just use AC's system if it'll work :)

(Here's WIP of my project:http://lukaskrepel.nl/game/ I'm mostly trying some styles/design/learning Unity. I plan to start from scratch once I've got my story written. I would never have gotten this far without AC)