Forum rules - please read before posting.

Referencing the hotspot that opened a generic menu

I would ask for some help , If I may - because I am completely stuck...

My Hotspots open a generic "custom" (Unity UI Prefab) menu from a 'Look at'  interaction. (much like the Inventory demo) The menu contains possible user selections that are handled by a custom action when the choice is submitted.

Because both the menu and the "submit" action are generic I cannot define the hotspot to turn off in either action list.. My Question is.. how do I get/pass a reference to the clicked hotspot so that I can turn it off once it has achived my "used" status...

I have tried setting a global variable ("current_active_hotspot") in the look interaction-  but am having problems targeting the hotspot when I grab it again , I have tried the Canvas EventSystem - but Hotspot selection actions are not registered by AC

I would guess the answer is staring me in the face - but being a total newbie.... I would humbly accept superior knowledge

Thanks in advance if you can help...

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @Simonr.

From your description, I would imagine you could make use of parameters to do this.  Parameters are a way for you to change the content of Actions each time they're run, and you can use a GameObject parameter within the Hotspot: Enable or disable Action to change the affected Hotspot dynamically.

You can find a tutorial on their usage here.  While parameters are usually set at the time their containing ActionList is run (using ActionList: Run), you can set the values of individual parameters at any time by using the ActionList: Set parameter Action.
  • Thank you Chris