Forum rules - please read before posting.

Managing a dynamic game world?

Hi again everyone! I'm here for more advice (sorry, I'm a noob, lol... Ah, but I already read the AC manual :)>- )

Anyways, for the game I'm designing, which is like a life simulator/adventure game, with changing months and seasons, I was aiming to have a dynamic world (think Harvest moon). e.g: certain objects, people or cut scenes would be turned on or off from levels depending on the day of the week, month, season or other condition (stuff like an affection level, again like in Harvest Moon).

The scenes themselves wouldn't be very large, more like the sets they make for movies, which can only be viewed well from certain angles. Anyways, my question is: 

-How would you guys manage dynamic levels?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I was thinking of setting my scenes so that all the dynamic objects: like some set dressings, NPCs, objects and hotspots, are off by default, so that when a player loads a level, an action list determines what to activate depending on the day/month,season/condition/etc.

For the construction of the scenes I was planing to make a base level for each area, then use them to build the versions for each season (adding extra layers of set dressing and particle FXs when necessary). of course each season specific level would have it's own cut scenes and stuff.

But here comes another question, which may actually have more to do with Unity itself than AC, but anyway: 

-For a somewhat stylized look, how would you guys manage the time of day? (passing of time won't be automatic though.)