Forum rules - please read before posting.

Object or animation?

edited May 2015 in Technical Q&A
Hello,

I'm new with AC and I'm trying to develop my first game in 2D but I'm not sure about one thing. Let say that I have a mouse that is hidding a key behind him and I would like to give i'm an object in my inventory to make it walk a bit so that the key would be visible afterwords. Should I make the mouse an object or make an animation for it (I guess I would then have to make it a character?)?

Would you be able to give me the instructions on how to do so please?

Good day and thank you for AC!

Comments

• Welcome to the forum, @squaleforce!

I would advise that you make the mouse an NPC if you want freedom to move him around the scene with full walking animations, or have him speak.  Otherwise, a Hotspot parented to a sprite object would be enough.

If he's only going to move the one time, then you could simply make a one-off movement animation for him (in the same way that the Bird in the 2D Demo is animated - he flies onto the bench with a Unity animation).  Otherwise, you'll have to move him around using the Character: Move to point Action - it'll be eaiser once he's set up, but you'll have to set up his NPC animations.  See the 2D tutorial for this process if you're just getting started.
  • edited May 2015
    Thank you ChrisIceBox,

I was able to make the animation but I think I'm missing something since my mouse doesn't move at all (I'm not sure what to put in the actionlist editor).

Also, I had to save my scene and project. When I opened Unity again, my scene is incomplete (my background is not even showing) but if I play the games, everything is fine.

I'm using Unity 5 and Adventure Creator 1.45

I really need your help again please.