Forum rules - please read before posting.

2D Character Conversation Animation

edited March 2015 in Technical Q&A
Hello,

Im still learning the ropes.

I am trying to get a npc to animation during his speach.

i have 2d brian as the main player, and a copy of this prefab for the npc, got the conversation working. but cant figure out how to get the npc to change to the talk animation.

Its using unity sprites for animation i believe.

My conversation set up below

Comments

• edited March 2015
    You don't need to assign the Player prefab (Brain2D) into your Speaker field - just check Player line? and AC will handle this for you.

You also don't need to animate your character actually doing the talking, provided you've set up your Standard 2D animations panel (in the NPC / Player inspectors) correctly.  AC will play a talk animation (if supplied) when appropriate.

Have a look at Brain2D's Player component, and see how it corresponds to the various animations that are already present in his Animator component.
  • edited March 2015
    Thanks for the info Chris. 

I was trying to get the other character to speak, just stood there. 

Having looked around, you were correct. I didn't have the sprite child assigned in the standard 2d animations section in the inspector. Doh. 

The other character now has the animations :)

Thank you !

Since, im here, and don't wish to start flooding the tech thread (can do if you wish tho) was wondering if there was a way to anchor a hotspot to an npc following the player. Got the character to follow on start, but the hotspot where he once stood stays in the same place. 

So basically what i was looking for is to be able to speak to the following character at any time as he follows.  Tried parenting a hotspot to the following character, but the hotspot went crazy, disappeared and stuff.