Forum rules - please read before posting.

Changing global variables via custom action scripts? The change doesn't seem to apply globally

Hello again! One more question regarding something I'm attempting to build and struggling with. Apologies if my code is completely wrong/junk, I am an artist primarily and have pretty much no Unity programming experience outside of just learning as I go making my game.

I'm trying to create an email system that will shift all of the emails you currently have down a "slot" once you get a new one. I was hoping to accomplish this by running custom actions that would cause all email slot variables to copy the value of the variables assigned to the slots above them, and then finally replace the top slot with the new email. I want to do it this way because the emails can be triggered to appear at different times based on the player's gameplay decisions, so there's not a guaranteed order in which they may appear. I thought about using the pre-built Documents function for this, but I actually have two separate systems that would need to behave like this (emails AND forum posts), and I'm not sure if I can use the document system to do what I want to achieve with both of these separate systems.

I am currently trying to execute the logic like this, with each line happening in their own custom action. (I tried putting the whole command into one custom action, but it executed all of the commands at the same time, resulting in each email slot getting the EmailNumber variable's number. With separate custom actions called sequentially it behaves more as I expected.)

EmailSlot5 = EmailSlot4;
        EmailSlot4 = EmailSlot3;
        EmailSlot3 = EmailSlot2;
        EmailSlot2 = EmailSlot1;
        EmailSlot1 = EmailSlot0;
        EmailSlot0.IntegerValue = EmailNumber;

So each of the Email Slot 5 - 1 actions are scripted like this, on separate actions for each line:

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using AC;