Forum rules - please read before posting.

UI : Menu, Subtitle - Somehow Ruined the the subtitles ( vanished )

Hello, I was wondering if some boy could help please. I'm new to tinkering with the menu UI's in AC and I have somehow broken the subtitles.

Appreciating that this menu actually has 2 elements, when I was tinkering with the heights and the alignments, which, I initially got working. The dialogue - subtitle box - has vanished altogether, and when I go back to reinstate the heights ( retrace my steps ), the box has vanished is still absent from the screen. I am hoping I have not wrecked it completely, and will need to either reinstate a default menu system. Or start the whole project from an earlier save, if this is the case I will be gutted.

I have attached an image of when I was redesigning the menu. I got as far as adding a new font and centering it, before box with the text on vanished.

Any ideas or tips? OR hopefully something simple I have done to break it?

thanks,

Comments

• I don't see an image - I'm afraid the forum doesn't support hosted images, but if you can upload to e.g. imgur.com, you can copy/paste the link.

Check your Console, as it'll report a Warning if the Menu is to be displayed but is locked.

If you need to re-do your Subtitles menu, there's no need to rebuild the whole thing - set your Menu Manager's asset file (at the top of the Game Editor) to Default_MenuManager, copy the Subtitles menu, then switch back to your own and paste it in.

• Ah, sorry Chris, I used a website called ImageDB I think.

I couldn't see any errors in the console when playing the game. I have, however, with a clear head, and methodical step-by-step approach managed to get the Menu Subtitles to work again. I have intentionally hidden the Subtitles label too.

No need for now to throw the baby out with the bathwater. ( see if anybody gets confused by that saying )