Forum rules - please read before posting.

NPC "Move to point" or "Move along path" not working

Hi - I'm having trouble to move my NPC. It's a 2D game and I'm new to AC. I used the Character Wizard to create the NPC, and added Default NavMesh (Polygon Collider) to the walkable area like shown in the 2D tutorial. If "Move to Point" the NPC would not move, if "Move along path" with teleport to start enabled it would teleport to start point and then stop moving. If "Wait until finish" is checked then it would just be stuck at that step, otherwise the step would be skipped. I've also tried toggling "Pathfind" in the ActionList and the Circle Collider 2D on the NPC--did not seem to make any difference.

What could the problem be? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Sorry forgot to mention I'm using AC 1.79.3 and Unity 2022.3.17

• Welcome to the community, @atessa.

We'll need to determine if this is an issue with your NPC, or with the scene's NavMesh.

From what you describe, it sounds like its to do with the NPC. You can check this by dropping the 2D Demo's Player character, Brain2D, into your scene and amended your Actions to have them update him instead - is Brain able to move correctly?

If so, check that NPC's Walk speed has a positive value, and that their Animator doesn't have Apply Root Motion checked, as this will cause the character to move purely through root-motion animation. If you can post screenshots of your character's full Inspector, I'll see if I can spot any issue.

Otherwise, check your Console window - are any related messages appearing when attempting to move the NPC?

• Thank you for the fast response!

I did not import all the demo assets since I did the tutorial in a different project. But I tried with Barry the bird 2D NPC, and it moved as expected. So it is indeed probably the NPC.