Forum rules - please read before posting.

Timeline Issue with 3D Primer Tutorial

Hi ! I'm new to AC and have been doing the 3D Primer tutorial and I'm having an issue with the Timeline section at 1:31:17 where we add an animation track with the temporary prefab for the Panel_UseBook and there isn't any animator assigned as it was the case prior with Panel_Use and then "suddenly" at 1:31:23, there is one (EL_TinPot) but I'm baffled at how Chris manages to do this because I can't achieve that feat... Thanks for your suggestions.
Edit: I can't go any further in the tutorial because I cannot assign anything to any other animation track also.
(Previously addressed in Discord 3D-help - Aquasasser — 19/01/2024 01:04 Got one reply that didn't fix my problem... :(

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @Aquasasser. Apologies for the frustration, but rest assured we'll get to the bottom of this.

To be clear: is this to say the prefab has no Animator component?

The temporary prefab assigned is the same in both Timelines - and it's the same prefab assigned as the "Player" in the Settings Manager. You can click this field in the Settings Manager to "ping" the correct prefab in the Project window. If you have the EL_TinPot object in the scene, try removing and re-adding this pinged prefab.

As this is a visual issue, it may help to share any screenshots you can to help clarify the problem. If possible, post some screenshots over on e.g. imgur.com and link them here, and I'll try to spot what's wrong.

• Hi Chris, thanks for replying that fast... and apologies accepted! B)

As a recap, everything went fine up to that dragging of the EL_TinPot temporary prefab the 2nd time for the Panel_UseBook Animation track just like you did in the video, BUT I cannot assign it, and you couldn't either in the video at 1:31:17, but you edited the video and it finally showed up at 1:31:23... :confused: