Forum rules - please read before posting.

Please help me understand Expressions

Hello there,
First time posting to a forum ever, so please forgive me if I've got something wrong.
I've been teaching myself Adventure creator for a couple of months and making progress but I've run into a couple of issues I'm unable to find answers for. I'm missing something in the tutorials/manual (the link the manual provides leads to a dead web page) and other forum posts (which the most recent I can find is from a couple of years ago), I just can't wrap my head around. I've currently got two problems, I could really use advice on, and I'm very much new to unity with little to no programming knowledge (nothing like jumping into the deep end right.)

Currently I'm working on a 2D point and click adventure. I've got the characters set up to talk via a conversation.
However, the artist I'm working with wants them to have an idle animation, then turn slightly to face the player, then begin a conversation. After every line the characters reset into their default idle animation. I'm using unity complex for the animation type as per the tutorial advice. Though we don't have bones or anything within the sprites just multiple frames of animation. So I might be using the wrong type there.

I tried using Character: Animate, and set standard, and overwrite the idle animation. but that just causes the character to never stop speaking (talking with mouth movements) if I set standard and select talk, then they never open their mouths.
And when I select the NPC with Character Animate I can't see the option to set standard.