Forum rules - please read before posting.

On Unity's updated pricing changes..

First off, thanks to all for your patience with me on addressing Unity's recent pricing debacle - but it was important for me to wait to see how things played out before posting here.

It's no hot take that Unity shot themselves in the foot with their initial announcement. I expect we'll need to wait a few months to really feel its true impact, but their eventual retraction - to my mind - is a decent one.

As an asset developer, my position is a little more unique in that it depends on both Unity and its users, but the climbdown is enough for me to say that AC's development and support will continue as it has been. From a purely technical standpoint, I still feel that Unity is the best fit for AC - a toolkit that's both very genre-specific, but also one that aims to aid those who need more flexibility.

That said, this period has been a good lesson about eggs in baskets, and I have spent a lot it looking into the main alternatives. Personally, I find Unreal clicks for me in a way the others don't quite.

A lesson I learned very early on in AC's lifecycle, though, is that a toolkit works best when embracing the principles of the engine it's atop. A theortical "AC in Unreal / Godot" etc would best be its own beast, rather than a 1:1 port. I'll continue to tinker and see where it takes me, but it would be remiss of me to say more than that right now.

AC will be reaching its 10th birthday next month - a fact only made possible by its community, as a tool is only worth what's done with it. Regardless of the future, thank you for the journey so far.

Comments

• Thank you for all your hard work!

• Hi Chris,

I haven't actively arulound much but have been lurking between working two jobs and other family problems.