Forum rules - please read before posting.

How to save the presence of GameObjects spawned via script

edited May 2023 in Technical Q&A

I'm new to using Adventure creator and also new to C#. I am using Unity 2021.3.23f1 for Windows, and I coded some functionality without realizing that I also needed to do stuff to make sure that what I wanted saved stays saved.

This is the C# script I wrote:

GameObject MessageObject = Instantiate(ReceivedMessageObject, new Vector3(0, 0, 0), Quaternion.identity);
    MessageObject.transform.SetParent(ConversationBox.transform);
    MessageObject.transform.SetLocalPositionAndRotation(new Vector3(0, 0, 0), Quaternion.identity);
    MessageObject.transform.localScale = new Vector3(1, 1, 1);

I also delete some MessageObjects after a certain amount of them are spawned in with this script:

GameObject ChildToDelete = ConversationBox.transform.GetChild(0).gameObject;
    Destroy(ChildToDelete);

I tried to save the presence of each MessageObject by attaching the RememberTransform script to the prefab of the ReceivedMessageObject as so:

And then I put the prefab in Assets/AdventureCreator/Resources

When I tried it with the code I have, it didn't save the presence of the MessageObjects.

I read in the Manual that the RememberTransform script is supposed to save objects specifically added using the "Add or Remove Object" action in an action list, but it would be cumbersome for me to make an action list and try to link to that action list via my script instead of just calling the action to be performed from within the script, but I couldn't find any examples online on how to do that.

I tried doing it with the stuff I found in the manual, but that didn't spawn the MessageObject. This is what I wrote:

ActionInstantiate Instantiate = AC.ActionInstantiate.CreateNew_Add(ReceivedMessageObject);
    GameObject MessageObject = Instantiate.gameObject;