Forum rules - please read before posting.

Reproducing "Player: Switch" with custom scripting?

Hello all,

I've been using the action list visual scripting quite a bit and decided I felt comfortable enough switching over to C# / custom scripting so that I could navigate complex chains quicker (since I've been a coder for a while.) One thing that I want to reproduce in custom scripting are the actions from a single node in the action list called "Player: Switch".

I tried searching the API / scripting guide, but couldn't find any keywords specific to the player for switching in one function. I feel like there's a sequence that Player: Switch runs that is more than one line of code. I also tried searching the forums here, but my forum-search-fu isn't quite powerful enough to conjure the magic words.

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time and help!

Very respectfully,
Tyler

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @TogaMario.

Your hunch is right - the Action handles quite a few caveats, edge cases and options beyond simply switching the Player.

Essentially though, if the new Player is in the current scene, call:

KickStarter.player = newPlayer;

Otherwise, it's a case of reading the Player's save data for their current scene, and calling SwitchToPlayerInDifferentScene:

switch (KickStarter.settingsManager.referenceScenesInSave)
    {
        case ChooseSceneBy.Name:
            string sceneNameToLoad = KickStarter.saveSystem.GetPlayerSceneName (playerID);
            KickStarter.saveSystem.SwitchToPlayerInDifferentScene (playerID, sceneNameToLoad, false);
            break;

case ChooseSceneBy.Number:
            int sceneIndexToLoad = KickStarter.saveSystem.GetPlayerSceneIndex (playerID);
            KickStarter.saveSystem.SwitchToPlayerInDifferentScene (playerID, sceneIndexToLoad, false);
            break;
    }

Where playerID is the ID number of the Player, as listed to the left of their prefab field in the Settings Manager.