Forum rules - please read before posting.

Character speaking multiple lines creates short flicker in subs between each line.

edited November 2021 in Technical Q&A

Hi,

Firstly, thanks for the amazing tool. I'm very new to AC but it's a joy to work with! o:)

I am currently creating a dialog-heavy game and have noticed a problem when having a character speaking multiple lines.
For the dialog, I am using the usual "Dialogue: Play speech"

However, in-game, between each line of the speech, the game flickers shortly before showing the next line.
I have tried turning off "Transition type" in the Menu settings and while this helped a little, the flicker still happens and can be very noticable at times.

Video example:
https://i.imgur.com/DAFS7in.mp4

I assume that it is due to the Menu setting "Appear type: When Speech plays", and that between each line the game for a split-second does not play speech and thus hides the menu?

For a solution I have tried out turning on the menu manually and then turning it off after each conversation, but this seems cumbersome and I was wondering if there is a better solution?

On another note: I have also tried using a Unity UI Prefab and controlling this through the AC Menu, but the flicker persists here too.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or solutions! :)

Version:|
Unity 2020.3.22f1
Adventure Creator v1.74.2

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @YBusbach2.

Try unchecking Duplicate for each line? in the Menu's properties box. When checked, each speech line is displayed in a separate menu - so each line causes a menu to be turned on and off. Unchecked, the menu will be used for all lines, so it may help with this effect.

Have a look through the top of the Speech Manager as well, to check that you don't have an automatic delay set between lines via the Initial post-line delay (s) field.

• Hi Chris,

Thanks for your suggestions!