Forum rules - please read before posting.

2D Tutorial Player not Moving

Good day

I'm a relative beginner with Unity, although I've completed most of the introductory tutorials. I've recently started with AC and I'm having an issue with player movement while following the 2D tutorial. I've created the player sprite, followed the character creation editor, created a prefab from the new New Player folder and pulled this into the Player Prefab field in the AC Setting Manager.

When I run the game the player spawns where the sprite is currently situated in the scene, rather than where the player start icon is located. Also, when trying to move (click), I get the following messages in the Console:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object AC.PlayerMovement.PointControlPlayer () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerMovement.cs:906) AC.PlayerMovement.UpdatePlayerMovement () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerMovement.cs:119) AC.StateHandler.Update () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Game engine/StateHandler.cs:253)

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object AC.PlayerInput.AttemptGrab () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerInput.cs:2115) AC.PlayerInput.UpdateDrag () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerInput.cs:2057) AC.PlayerInput.UpdateInput () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerInput.cs:768) AC.StateHandler.Update () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Game engine/StateHandler.cs:155)

I might be mistaken, but this appears to be a relatively stupid mistake (maybe could be solved by simply assigning the player prefab somewhere?), but I'm not sure where I need to add the reference, or where I went wrong while following the tutorial. If the solution is not as obvious as that, please let me know which screenshots would assist with solving the issue.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Comments