Forum rules - please read before posting.

Parenting sprite to player object makes weird animation bug

edited September 2021 in Technical Q&A

Hey there,

This is my first time using AC with 2D sprites so I'm really new to this, using v1.73.8

I have a small sprite I'm trying to parent to the player gameobject which is also a sprite of course via action list.

The small sprite has its own animator and one of the animations moves the small sprite across the screen.

The problem is if I try to play the game with the sprite parented to the player (via action) AND the moving animation is there in the animator, the sprite just spawns way off screen (without even calling the animation) and does all the animations there off screen.

But if I delete the animation from the animator then it spawns in front of the player like it should and plays all the other animations just fine. It also works if I set parent so it appears on the player like I want it to but then clear it straight after... but I need it to follow the player so clearing parent won't work for me.

This doesnt happen with any other animation though they are only messing with the sprite alpha, it seems to just be position.

Does anyone have any clue why this is happening lol

Thank you

Comments

• Can you share screens to illustrate this? It's a visual problem, so it'll help me understand the issue

Also: what's the wider intent/context here? If possible, it's typically better to incorporate the other sprite into your Player's regular Animator - a sub-layer can be used to control the sprite's visibility.

You say one of the animations moves the sprite, but which animation is its default? Check the Animator at the time the issue occurs.

• edited September 2021

Hi Chris,