Forum rules - please read before posting.

Null Refs Upon Re-Opening Scene

Hey,

Having a problem where I am receiving two null reference errors upon running a scene, after closing Unity and then re-opening a scene.

If I create a new blank scene and use the New Game Wizard, the scene runs great. But if I close Unity and then re-open the scene, I receive the two attached errors. This happens every time a make a new game via the wizard.

I have little to no experience with code so any advice as to how I can fix this would be amazing.

Cheers!

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
AC.KickStarter.PreparePlayer () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Game engine/KickStarter.cs:1138)
AC.KickStarter.Initialise () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Game engine/KickStarter.cs:1119)
AC.MultiSceneChecker.Awake () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Game engine/MultiSceneChecker.cs:43)

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
AC.PlayerCursor.set_SelectedCursor (System.Int32 value) (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerCursor.cs:1185)
AC.PlayerCursor.Start () (at Assets/AdventureCreator/Scripts/Controls/PlayerCursor.cs:59)

Comments

• Small update - if I double click my ManagerPackage upon booting up Unity it runs the scene without error. Is this expected behaviour?

• What's your AC version? The error suggests it's not recent.

For AC to run, however, you must have all 8 Manager assets assigned in your AC Game Editor window. These assets are generated when using the New Game Wizard - see the bottom of the tutorial here.

Double-clicking the ManagerPackage file re-assigns these asset files if they've become unset, but it shouldn't be necessary to do each time you re-open Unity. Are you saving the project once the Managers are assigned, but before quitting?