Forum rules - please read before posting.

Run animation not playing (other suggestions for switching character movement animations welcome)

Hi, First time posting here and first time making a game. AC has been a really useful tool and while I’m a complete noob I’ve managed to work through most of my problems… although this time I’m stuck!

So.. I’m making a 2D point and click game and want my character to hold an item (a flashlight) when selected. I can’t really do this by slapping on a child item as it just looks a bit silly, so I want to change the animation. Since the character always walks I thought an easy way round this to avoid any coding was to use the “run” animation slot. So when the flashlight is selected I force “Always Run”. This animation he has a flashlights (I can get over the fact his Idle doesn’t have the light). Anyway my run animation doesn’t seem to play. I’m sure I’ve named it right. I don’t see anything in the console saying it can’t play the animation, I tried switching to double click causing run (in case it was my inventory item not correctly) but the player just moves without the animation.. occasionally a bit of the animation pops into view, like it is on a different layer. I’m sure there is a much better way of switching a players walk/run/idle animation to reflect holding an item or having a change of clothes or something) and I’d love to hear it. But right now, I’m just confused as to why my work around isn’t working. Any suggestions?

Oh and I’m using AC 1.72.2a with Unity 2019.4.4f1. Animation engine is Sprites Unity. Motion control automatic.

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @9aul.

Your Animator window is a bit too zoomed out for me to see its contents, but I notice you've got a Warning message from the Console about not being able to play an expected animation. Is this related to another character?