Forum rules - please read before posting.

Opening Cutscene Animation

Hello,

I'm relatively new at using AC, and so far it's been a breeze. I find myself stuck, however, with a problem that seems like it should be annoyingly simple to solve, yet has proven anything but.

I simply wish to have a short (15 sec) animation play right when you run the game, then load the first scene immediately after. The animation was made in AC from a png image sequence exported from photoshop.

I have tried creating an OnStart cutscene in my scene 00 and choosing Object: Animate in the ActionList, then dragging the animation into the Clip field.

Nothing happens. It simply starts the first scene minus the opening cutscene animation.

I have also tried making the animation the first scene, setting it as 0 in the build settings and adding an ActionList to the animation that I have dragged into the scene window. I make this ActionList a scene switch, switching to what I wish to be the first interactive scene (I make this scene 01 in the build settings.)

I have no idea if this is at all even remotely correct, but it was the only alternative I could think to try when the first solution given to me didn't solve the issue. I have scoured forums and asked teachers on Udemy. And still, here I am.

I am confused as to whether I need to have my animation in a separate scene which transitions to the interactive one, or whether it needs to be in the interactive one (in the scene window). If the latter is the case, do I need to switch to a separate camera from the one that is the default camera in the scene? I have tried this, giving the animation clip its own camera and programming an ActionList in the OnStart cutscene that switches to the second camera, and one that switches back once the animation has played. Still to no avail.