Forum rules - please read before posting.

How easy is it to add server interaction?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Unity, and haven't bought AC yet, only considering it. It looks awesome, but I have two questions before I jump on board:

1, How easy is it to save the status of a game to a server on the Internet? For example, a PHP script that will store the game state in a database. I'm familiar with PHP, so it's the Unity/AC side that this question is focused on. (And of course, load from this server, too.)

2, Similar to the above, I would like to be able to set in-game variables, based on data from a PHP script. (For example, if the user is logged into my website, they can access certain parts of the game, otherwise they cannot.)

Thank you,

Ati

Comments

• edited May 2020

Welcome to the community, @Ati.

How easy is it to save the status of a game to a server on the Internet?

You'd have to incorporate your own custom scripting to do this, since AC's built-in save method is to write to either a system file, or in Unity's PlayerPrefs. Aside from the PHP to handle the server communication, you'd also need to write a C# script to handle the AC/Unity side of things.

Through such scripting, it's possible to create both custom save formats, and file locations, by writing scripts that implement AC's iSaveFileHandler and iFileFormatHandler classes.

You can learn more about this in the Manual's "Custom save formats and handling" chapter, but the iSaveFileFormatHandler essentially allows you to define Save / Load functions, with the actual save data provided as a string.

Here's a sample of the class that uses this to provide saving to the PlayerPrefs:

https://paste.ofcode.org/uJpqDh2EHkswdemgkyCmfW

Implementing iFileFormatHandler similarly lets you store save data in a custom file format, with the provided formats being XML, Json, and Binary.

Similar to the above, I would like to be able to set in-game variables, based on data from a PHP script.