Forum rules - please read before posting.

Workflow suggestion: display two (or more) character portraits at once

Hello there, first time posting!
Recently, I bought Adventure Creator, and I am giving my first steps with it. I am pleased with everything I see (although, a bit overwhelmed at times), but I have some doubts about what is the best way of portraying two, or more, characters in a dialogue at the same time, a.k.a, Layton-esque dialogue:

I have placed properly the text box, but I am having trouble with character portraits. I have read the Portrait tutorial, and made it to work, but currently, this system only allows for one portrait to be displayed and updated at the same time.
Before jumping straight into coding a custom solution, since I am still a noob on AC, I would like to ask you about what possible solution could be the best.
Right now, I have two ideas:
-One where I change, via Action, the correspondant portrait when playing a certain line. This could be kind of tedious, as I have to register every portrait change by hand on the Action Editor.
-The other, a custom script (possibly, a modification of Portrait) that checks which character is talking, which emotion is displaying, and which UI image should modify. This seems more elegant and automatic, but requires work on a codebase I am unfamiliar with.

I will still be researching AC, but until I found a solution I am comfortable with, I would like to hear what suggestions do you have, since I figure I am not the first one that intends to make this particular tweak.

Comments

• edited May 2020

Welcome to the community, @Cabreira.

This is actually something I've been looking into as part of the v1.70.0 update. If you haven't already, back up your project and grab it - as it should make this scenario much easier to achieve.