Forum rules - please read before posting.

Making a door system

Hi, I'm new to Adventure Creator (even though I bought it 6 years ago), and I am an artist and know very little programming.

So I'm trying to make a 3D point and click game where you can enter and exit a house. Right now I have it set to make the player go to the door of a building when you click a hotspot. The player will walk to it and at a certain distance, the door will open using cutscene, where the door is set as draggable object and then rotated by a certain degree, then the hotspot is disabled so he can't open the door twice.
The player can do whatever he is doing and when he exit, I want the door to automatically close when he hit a trigger that I set outside.
I assume the close door trigger will be enabled when the open door hot spot is clicked and disabled, so if he does not enter and exit, the door will still close as he walks away.
A few questions, firstly, is this thinking right?

I'm unsure how to set triggers to be disabled at the start and only enabled when the player enters a trigger. Unchecking the unity disable object just make the not working at all even when he hits the trigger to enable it.

i tried a few solutions and each one has a bug where the door will animate twice or does not go back to original position. The one thing I haven't try is to force the player to enter the building, making him to hit the trigger to close the door, and have him hit a second hotspot to exit the building and forcing him to exit. So the player will not be able to change his mind and create bugs. But again I don't know how to set hotspots as disabled at the start, can anyone help me?

Thank you

Comments

• The other thing I haven't try is using an if else statement where it checks if the door is close or open. If the door is close, then it cannot be close again and vice versa. But how do I do that in AC?

• edited May 2020
    May have found a way to disable a hotspot at start from another thread.