Forum rules - please read before posting.

Trouble accessing int value of a Local Variable

Hi all, I've been scratching my head about this for a while so thought I would see if anyone can help.

For context, I've been trying to set up a health bar that updates based on the value of a local variable in AC. I've set up the Unity UI side of it and hooked that into a corresponding menu in the Menu Manager. The bit where I've come unstuck is retrieving the variable value from AC to pass into the UI update.

I have very little experience coding, so I'm sure I'm making a very basic error here, but here's what I have (apologies in advance for the awful formatting):

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;
using UnityEngine.UI;
using AC;

public class DashHealthBarScript : MonoBehaviour
{

public Slider slider;
int health;

public void SetMaxHealth(int health)
{
    slider.maxValue = health;
    slider.value = health;
}

public void SetHealth(int health)
{
    slider.value = health;
}

GVar myVar = LocalVariables.GetVariable(8);
health = myVar.GetIntegerValue(8);
SetHealth(int health);

}

I get an error on this line and I can't for the life of me work out why:
health = myVar.GetIntegerValue(8);

I'm sure this is a rookie mistake I'm making but any help would be very much appreciated!

Comments

• GetIntegerValue is a function inside LocalVariables, which access GVar itself.

Within GVar, you can get the integer value with IntegerValue:

health = myVar.IntegerValue;

• Hi Chris, thanks for the rapid response! That has resolved my scripting issue, however I am having issues calling my scripts from my existing action list in scene. I think this is a problem to do with my setup though, so I'm going to go away and do some Unity fundamentals before going back to it.

Just to sanity check, this is my current approach:

1) Set up Unity UI Canvas
    2) Set up AC Menu & connect to Unity UI Canvas