Forum rules - please read before posting.

A Horror game? Gasp! Seeking Advice...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Adventure Creator, and kudos to Chris for the fantastic Adventure Creator: 2D primer tutorial.
While I'm not a Unity expert, I've worked on a platformer game before this. I'm comfortable using no-coding assets and adding simple code when needed. I also own Playmaker and Dialogue System for unity.

I'm drawing inspiration from the classic game "Clock Tower" for Windows 95, and my goal is to create a 2D point-and-click adventure using Adventure Creator with some horror elements.

I've read the forum rules, especially number 5 ("This extends to coding: this is not a place for teaching how to write scripts. Issues and questions related to working with AC's API, however, are of course fine"). I'm just seeking a different perspective before starting my project.

Specifically, I'd like to implement a mechanic where players can hide from a monster and have the monster chase/hunt them. Do you have any general tips on what to focus on for creating these mechanics with Adventure Creator tools? Or is it something that should be added with custom scripts?

I hope I'm not asking for too much. If I am, I genuinely apologize.

Comments

• edited October 2023

Adventure Creator is essentially for what is in it's name for Adventures, so you'd have to implement (depending on your Game) Enemy AI, Survival Stuff, Life etc. yourself.

That said, it's not trivial but not impossible either, there is even a Combat Example on the Downloads Page if you haven't seen it it yet: https://adventurecreator.org/downloads

I've tried it out for fun, and there's lots that you can learn from it and even copy some stuff over that would work in 2D just aswell (life, chasing, inventory).