Forum rules - please read before posting.

Create Scene and Dynamically load into game at runtime?

Hi, I'm a newbie with AC and would like to know how to do the following:

I have a project that currently has 3 scenes, now I would like to create additional AC scene in unity editor and then dynamically load that new scene into the game at runtime. This way I don't have to submit a new update of the app each time a new scene is created. Can you suggest a way to do this.

Cheers.

Comments

• Welcome to the community, @256bits.

Can you elaborate what you mean by "dynamically load"? What is the exact situation you're looking to achieve?

Scenes normally have to be added to Unity's Build Settings for them to be accessable in builds. They can, however, also be accessed if either in an Asset Bundle, or an Addressable bundle.

For Asset Bundles, you would have to manage the downloading/loading of the correct bundle - but once correctly present you should then be able to open scenes it contains as normal.

For Addressables - i.e. using Unity's Addressable system, and the way I recommend - you can assign a Key to a scene asset file and then reference that Key's name in AC. To allow for this, you'll need to go to the Settings Manager and set Reference scenes by to Name, and then check both Load scenes asynchronously? and Load scenes by Addressable?.

• Thank you Chris for your answer. After diving into the documentation deeper I can now ask the correct question.

Question: I understand that action lists can be saved as asset files. Can these asset files that are created in unity be saved and loaded into a running game at runtime?

Use case: After publishing a game and I want to update the action list that is the logic of the game without having to make a new build of the game and uploading the new build. So I was thinking of being able to just update the Action List Logic instead of making a new build. A kind of Runtime game mod.