Forum rules - please read before posting.

A couple of pre-purchase questions

Hi folks,

I’m a composer/sound designer by profession (mostly kids animated series work) but I also have an abiding love for the old point’n’click games, and a story burning a hole in my pocket. I figure it might be worth a crack at trying to put my own game together.

Adventure Creator looks pretty amazing. I’ve had a play with Visionaire and AGS in the past, but this seems to be a whole other level. Plus the easy access to a wide range of publishing formats is a huge benefit to anyone who aspires to a “proper” release.

I’ve not touched code for a LONG time (I used to write rudimentary text games in BASIC on the BBC Micro back in school!) so I love the node-based approach, but I like that coding is available as an option if needed. 

I had a couple of pre-purchase questions that I’m hoping someone could answer for me. Apologies if these have already been covered, or are “dumb” - I had a hunt around and couldn’t find answers, but I may have overlooked, and I’m new to Unity. Pretty quick learner though, so hopefully I won’t be bugging you too much once I hit my stride :)

1. 2D characters in 3D environments - Kind of the exact opposite of the “2.5D workflow” I guess! Is this possible? I’d love to be able to use some 3D environments for added depth, interactive lighting, tracking cameras etc. but I’m envisaging a “toony” style for my characters (which I’ll probably get some designer & animator mates to work on with me). I had considered maybe just using 3D characters with a toon shader, but it’s not quite the same. Is there a workflow that would allow i.e. putting rigged 2D character animation onto flat planes that always face the camera? 

2. Scene camera tracking laterally with character - A follow up to the previous point - can you set up a game camera in a 3D scene to track along with a player rather than pan with them? (i.e. the camera physically MOVES rather than rotates to follow).